Anti-feminism?

http://www.ijreview.com/2014/07/156463-15-women-share-reasons-dont-need-empowered-feminist-movement/

I have my qualms about feminism, but I honestly struggle to see how most of these signs are relevant. They come off as self-absorbed, at least. I’m sure feminism has/does do a lot of good… Would you be safe from your employer treating you unfairly without feminists standing up for women? Don’t you want there to be shelters for the women and children who are victims of domestic violence (make some shelters for men too if you want)? You’re not worried about the women being attacked practically every minute in South Africa?

Saying you’re “anti-feminist” brings to mind frightening anti-women connotations, as this is the definition of feminism…
“the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.”
You don’t think women in Saudi Arabia should be allowed to drive? Vote? Surely they’re equal to men in their intelligence and capableness as a grown human being.
So, by saying they should be able to, you’d be advocating for women’s rights because the sexes are equal.

This is what I said on Facebook (which is more like a redux of my blog posts… Redux isn’t the right word but it’s as good as I got right now, okay?)

I think it’s hard to grasp what these women really mean because there’s no context, no idea of what they’re thinking and why. #3 and #10 come off as slut shaming and victim blaming / rape apology, and that is scary-awful to me! I think I can relate to #5 and #11 the most, because I like to think for myself and don’t want to be defined by others – there ARE genocidal feminists that I don’t want to remotely associate with, but you can certainly be a feminist and abhor that and I think that’s what more women need to express. There is a lot of language in feminism as a political movement that I feel belittles men, but I don’t see how that equates to #14 at all… Statistically women are subject to discrimination & violence, and what about our sisters in other countries? Maybe we need to separate the divisive political movement and the act of supporting women in our lives before we say we’re “anti-feminist”.

Leave a Reply

