I watched The Smurfs 2 for some reason… Eh.
Britney Spears did a song for the film, “Ooh La La”, along with a cutesy video set in Smurf village with her two small sons.
So innocent, yeeeeeah.
I was bothered not only by the total irrelevance but the sexual undertones of this song when it’s ‘performed’ by the smurfs at the end of The Smurfs 2….
“Ooh my my baby, don’t be shy
I see that spark flashing in your eye
My heart beats fast cause I want it all
So baby come with me and be my ooh la la
Take my hand, we can go all night
And spin me round just the way I like
It feels so good, I don’t wanna stop
So baby come with me and be my ooh la la”
Ew o.O
Yes it reminds me of how we all danced around to Barbie Girl by Aqua as sweet little children, realising much later with horror the full implication of the lyrics, which I won’t quote because it’s basically all innuendo.
At least I don’t recall that being shilled in a kids movie.

Leave a Reply

