In Response To ‘Men Explain Things To Me’

Now, the sarcasm I can’t stop from slipping into my otherwise valid opinions is not as effective without knowledge of what types of comments others made.
I could just link the article, but I wasn’t brave enough to read the actual comments there, I just read the ones on the Feminist Frequency (who shared it) Facebook page.
I honestly didn’t read all the article either, I skimmed it and the rest didn’t seem very to the point. So this is really less of a response to the article ‘Men Explain Things To Me’ but more to the general attitude which I have previously discovered (and been disturbed by).
Perhaps read those complimentary thoughts of mine here afterwards.

Here is what I wanted to say :
No, I don’t get what this person is talking about, I don’t experience this. I feel really uncomfortable in this area of feminism and other groups of people. Because I think it borders on hypocritical and I feel kind of disgusted.
I do not like to make up words for people and label them with it whenever I disagree with their opinion. It makes me think of those some men that would call a woman ‘feminazi’.
And why should your judgment be unquestioned… Isn’t it very subjective, based on your experiences as your own person? ‘Mansplainers’ judgment probably is too. It is just a thing that people do, it is an issue we will all encounter as human beings.
Now please explain to me, some stranger, from your position as an experienced woman, why I’m wrong and not allowed to have an opinion? Or am I okay because I’m female? In any case please do so in a condescending manner and tell me how precious my opinions are.

Additional thoughts :
I still identify as a feminist, but it’s difficult. I don’t want to be associated with these people and ideas. I guess I am my own brand of feminist and I’m not interested in any one elses. I mean, I have been interested… I have followed groups and read articles (shared them here too!) to learn more, but really only in the hope they would be views I agree with – unlike these, which make me throw up in my mouth a little.
I’m not going to learn to be a cookie-cutter feminist that knows all the right words because that’s not who I am.
A bit like how I don’t want therapy because I want to think like me and not others who apparently think ‘righter’.
I will continue to express my thoughts, no matter how ignorant they are, because they are well intentioned and unique.

P.S   I just Googled ‘womansplaining’ (that’s right, I went there!) and I found this discussion on tumblr that, while some of them use their vocabulary in an exasperating manner, I found insightful and the last paragraph sums up my feelings wonderfully.
http://permutationofninjas.tumblr.com/post/21426561912/unpopular-opinion-i-dislike-the-term-mansplaining
Thank you everybody who has expressed their views on this.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. genderneutrallanguage
    May 05, 2013 @ 13:31:30

    You see the problems with the current mainstream feminism. You don’t want to be associated with people that write stuff like that. You still do like the idea of feminism. I can understand this. I wrote a post “Reclaiming Feminism”. If you want feminism to be a good thing, this is how I think you can do it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

