GET OVER YOURSELF

Re-watching the Melbourne Gala Comedy Festival (is that the right order of mumbo jumbo?) reminds me of a Facebook post I read a while ago.
The nice lesbian woman sums it up
“Someone once told me “don’t take a pill, just think happy thoughts!” and I was like “you think I haven’t thought of that already?”  Telling a depressed person to get over it is like telling an amputee to get a grip.”

My… friend… posted two statuses within minutes of each other I found quite conflicting.
First was basically “we all go through shit but we don’t all complain about it, you need to move on. instead of whining why don’t you do something about it. Just a thought…”
The next, 2 MINUTES LATER, was “don’t pick on depressed people okay it’s probably bitches like you that made them depressed SHUT UP”

I be like honey (I’m ghetto fabulous now), listen to future you and shut up.
People must really hate themselves if they’re going to take that “thought” of yours.
“oh no, I’ve sunken so low I’m going to take this insultingly simple advice that I’ve heard a million times before, just because it came from this teenage faux-therapist.”

I did have a thoughtful argument for her, really, but even though she is addressing “you” she is thinking of one specific person, and when you try to counter that they refute everything you say – “no, it’s not like that, they definitely are a bitch when they do x and y ALWAYS” – and it’s hard to defend someone you don’t know.
So I just mocked her in my own Facebook status.

And I probably took it personally as a complainer and a labradoodle.
If you don’t complain, you don’t get what you want, you don’t process all your thoughts and feelings, you don’t combat societal ills, you don’t protect yourself.
Complaint is an action.
You can just get bogged down in complaint, and you don’t know where to go from there… and it’s actually a scary and confusing place to be, I’ve lived years of my life like that.
I don’t like it, and if you don’t either, don’t read it.
It’s for my own sake.

P.S not that this is either post nor script – Apparently ‘reminds’ isn’t a word.

Leave a Reply

