Glory Box stuff

So, this is the nice little (well, its not very little) steamer trunk looking thing I got a couple days ago.

There was another one of the same size that was black and white which I liked, but its hinges were rusty.

It has cute travel stuff printed all over it, stamps and flight times, postcards and stuff, all Australian locations.

I’m calling this one my ‘Glory Box’ because it’s not really the sturdy wooden chest I would like to have, that would be my ‘Hope Chest’.

This trunk inspires me to travel, and I think I’d like to keep things like scrapbooks and stuff in there, after its done being filled with blankets and such.

So, I decided to put my stuff in there and take some pictures.
Starting with my biggest and heaviest item, which is actually a gigantic throw that my Mum knit.

And then my baby blanket, also made by Mum.

And also the pop-out-ish books that I got.

And, finally, the quilt cover set and pillow cases Mum bought me for when I get a big girls bed.

I wanted to put the big doona (duvet/continental quilt/whatever) in there too but its in a big square bag that wont fit, and Mum said that it wasn’t practical and that “I would be using the quilt soon anyway”.
Yeah, whatever, lol.
So thats still on the top of my wardrobe.

I don’t have anything else to put in there yet, and probably won’t until I get a job so I can save up for nice things to put in there.
My Mums thinking about buying a new dinner set when she has the money – its a pretty floral one – but she doesn’t need the mugs, so I’d probably get those to put away, which would be exciting.

My glory box has gone back into its messy temporary home – yes I need to clean my room, I’ll do that after this, lol.

It might fit in one of my wardrobes, which would be good, since ones practically empty except weird bits and bobs at the bottom of it; my light-up pimp cane, my halloween bucket, my slippers, my mums incense box, various birthday bags, and a box filled with stuff previously on my dresser like my Dads elephants and my seashells and fairies.
I don’t know where to put any of this.

When I get a proper chest (of the wooden variety, I’ve already got the other kind), it might go in the same spot, but without the tiny rocking chair overflowing with clothes, and along the wall facing the centre of the room.
It’s a nice idea for it to go at the end of my bed like a blanket box, but then there’d be no room to walk between it and my television.

Oh, and these below are the disappointing chests I found yesterday.
Darn those spindly legs and cracks in the wood.

 

Leave a Reply

