Sewing Projects – Girlies!

Early last year, I found a sewing project (in a box titled ‘Kids UFOs’.. un-finished objects) that I started when I still lived in Middle-Of-Nowhere, Victoria… so I was probably 6 to 9 years old.
I wanna say 7.

Holly Hobbie

It’s a bunch of little girlies that I think are based on the original Holly Hobbies design.

initial design

My Mum traced the shape and I think I designed and/or coloured the clothes.

finished girlie

I started sewing this green one when I was little and almost finished it, and starting to do them again and finishing them all now has been very interesting, and they’re so cute!

frantic baby stitches!

I believe (I hope) this is the sewing of a 7 year old me.

almost wondering if Mum sewed that...

And I believe this is the sewing of a 14 year old me.

ah, I was too cute ;p

All of the drawings and planning and colouring was done when I was little, as you can see… lol.

initial design

This is the next one I did…

finished girlie

Somehow she ended up a chocolate girlie because I ran out of my first skin colour, but yay for diversity! All of the other skin colours are different anyway.

enter interesting caption here

My fancy feather!

I gotta say I love Macro photography... whatever that is

My amazing changing stitch size… hmm.

initial design

This was my next one, and I don’t know if it was possible I copied the design, because I don’t know my exact age when I coloured these or when I first played Harvest Moon A Wonderful Life…


Muffy from the video game Harvest Moon : A Wonderful Life

finished girlie

…but this girlie looks exactly like Muffy, the desperate waitress!

a bit tricky

Weird little peeptoe shoes… the materials gotten a bit fluffy and I don’t think the material lined up very well (or is that my cruddy stiches?) because theres some skin colour showing around the edge…

it's a sleeve...

Love how I did her cardigan though 🙂

initial design

Next one, everyone tells me she looks like Cartman from South Park… damn hat lol.

finished girlie

I didn’t do the bobble on the beanie, I wasn’t quite sure how – I considered buttons, but at the moment it’s just like this.

"shut up, fat boy!" - South Park...

Heehee, fat little belly.

is it just me or could those stitches be... VAMPIRE BITES!?!

Um, her neck – I just wanted to have four photos for each girlie >>;

finished girlie

This ones fairly plain…

initial design

But the original design had terribly drawn butterflies – My Mum couldn’t figure out what they were!

reverse bingo wing? bot fly? scarab beetle? aliens?

She has a bit of a strange bulge in her arm o.o

*something witty*

I think my sewing on her hat was pretty good.

initial design

This original design looks very… um… I imagine a grubby old woman gardening.

finished girlie

But she turned out to be my second favourite (next to beanie girlie). Her skins not quite so pale in real life. I love that material I found for her skirt, because it has all the other colours in it! And, no, there is no huuuge flower on her hat, but the hat material has a flower design.

frantic stitches!

Haha, that shoe was quite frustrating..

hmm, see-through arm

The hand overlapped the skirt just a ridiculously tiny amount, so I didn’t sew that bit of the skirt.
Another thing I probably should’ve had a picture of was the sleeve – the arm has actually been slipped up into a slit in the shirt for the sleeve, because, um, we didn’t plan very well, I suppose.
I kinda wanted to sew her shoulder in so it was a complete sleeve but I didn’t.

There was a little gap of time (apart from me aging 7 years making the first girlie) between the first three girlies and the last three girlies because I had to find the right thread to match the tan skin tone, I did actually have the right colour of thread but it was quilting thread, so no go.
I’m not quite sure what to do with the girlies now – there are 3 that face left and 3 that face right.
At first I was considering a quilt or lap-quilt, but Mum was too lazy to wash some of the material, so something that won’t get washed like wall-hangings is more suitable (so the material won’t shrink or run).
I’ve moved onto sewing one of Mum’s UFOs so I’ll do a post about that next 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen Mower
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 08:10:26

    These are wonderful!!! She is actually called “Sunbonnet Sue” a long time ago. I think maybe Holly Hobbie was based on her. You have done such a good job with the embroidery. Really. You don’t say what you plan to do with these girlies. Will you make a quilt?

    Reply

  2. kathleen mower
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 08:28:05

    Okay, so you do say what you plan to do with them! ;o) I was just so anxious to tell you how great they are that I was reading too fast! I think you should make the quilt anyway. Six is just the right number for a lap quilt. You could wash the blocks carefully before you sewed them up and I’ll bet you’d be okay. Wall hangings have to be washed eventually as well. Since I dry everything on a clothesline, I often don’t wash beforehand either.

    Reply

    • homeschooledjunglefreak
      Jan 30, 2011 @ 20:04:12

      hahah 🙂 thank you! Yeah, I haven’t laid all my finished blocks out yet so I’m not quite sure what I’ll do with them, probably a little quilt – I like wall hangings but the other one I have normally hangs jammed in the top of the wardrobe door because there is no where else to put it… not the best treatment, lol.
      I’ll fiddle around when I have a clear table to work on, I guess!

      Reply

  3. therealmother
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 18:31:32

    Meggie these look really impressive on a blog! lol I’m very excited that I could link to you from my quilting blog. I can’t wait to see the heart blocks on here..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

